Isobelle Carmody Bibliography



Synopsis & covers

Wavesong is the US-only book 5, with The Stone Key being book 6.
Wavesong is essentially the first half of the Stone Key.
From Isobelle herself:

"The American Random House book Wavesong will be the first half of The Stone Key with an ending and a few changes to allow me to smooth the cut. The Random version of The Stone Key will be the second half of The Stone Key with a new beginning.
"I have no say at all in this.
Penguin Australia made the deal with Random and it appears mostly to be because the Americans feel the books are too big for the younger audience they would sell them to, I think.

Of course I wrote The Stone Key as a single book, and even with tweaking for me, the Australia single book version is preferable.
But the good thing about it from my point of view is that many foreign publishers can't afford to translate such a huge book, and so this will make it much more accessible to translation."

The blurb from Random House:

With the end of the Wintertime that isolates Obernewtyn from the rest of the world, Farseeker Guildmistress Elspeth Gordie again sets out for the lowlands. But she soon finds that not everyone welcomes the changes brought about by the rebellion. There is a traitor among the rebels-a traitor whose hatred of Misfits puts Elspeth in danger as she attempts to thwart an invasion of fanatical Herders. Captured by an old and vicious enemy, Elspeth is drawn deep into the heart of the Herder Faction, where she learns of an ambitious plot that could alter the world forever.


Published: US/Canada: 2008 - Random House [second half of The Stone Key] UK: 2011 - Bloomsbury [second half of The Stone Key] Purchase Wavesong online:
Last Updated : Wednesday 24 April 2013 - 13:03:17